Please also see the following products which are part of the Walls brand:
• Swedish Glace
• Ben and Jerrys
• Breyers Delight
• Carte D’or
• Mini Milk
• Walls Soft Scoop
We spoke to Walls/Magnum on 17th July 2020 and can confirm that the Twister ice creams are halal.
Any emulsifier like E471 (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids) is derived from a plant source not from animal sources. Previously Walls had told us some products contain e471 from animal sources.
Further, Ice creams do not contain Calf Rennet, but do contain whey. Magnum cannot guarantee that there is no rennet residue in the whey. According to the Hanafis, Rennet is permissible. This is also why the products are unsuitable for vegetarians. Please read our post on Calf Rennet in Islam.
Please note the Ben and Jerrys range are certified halal by HFA and are suitable for Vegetarians. Please also be aware that some of the Ice Creams contain alcohol. All of the Breyers Delight are halal.
theHalalLife.co.uk is a not for profit website. Please support us by spreading the word on theHalalLife.co.uk. We also have recipes, scholars biographies and many articles. You can share this post using the share links below.
Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.