My question relates to marrying first cousins. Although it’s permissible in Islam, I was wondering as regards to arguments against this as many people cite health issues and high rates of disabilities among children.
I’m struggling to get my head around a ruling in Islam that potentially puts people or children at risk. I am in no way saying the Islamic ruling is wrong as I would never oppose anything in Islam but rather I would like clarification so as to have a better understanding as non-Muslims often ask why we would have this ruling and always cite particular studies.
Squid are not from the fish species. According to Britannica.com, “Mollusks are soft-bodied invertebrates of the phylum Mollusca, usually wholly or partly enclosed in a calcium carbonate shell secreted by a soft mantle covering the body.”
Scallops may refer to the seafood, or a thin potato slice fried in batter or a thin potato slice paired with some fish (cod/haddock) in batter. Consider the images below.
There are a multitude of opinions in the Hanafi School, these vary based on whether prawns and shrimp are considered fish or not, biologically and/or colloquially. You can read more on Seafood Fiqh here first.
Octopuses are not from the fish species.
This includes Clams, Mussels, Oysters, Scallops, Octopus and Squid.
Considering Octopus is not a fish they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.
Lobster and Crab are not from the fish species from a family of large marine crustaceans. Therefore, they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.
It is not permitted to eat them because the Prophet ﷺ forbade killing them, as is reported in the hadith of ‘Abd al-Rahmaan ibn ‘Uthmaan, who said that the Messenger of Allah ﷺ forbade the killing of frogs. (Narrated by Imaam Ahmad and Ibn Maajah; see also Saheeh al-Jaami, 6970). The rule is that everything which we are forbidden to kill, we are not allowed to eat; if we are allowed to eat it we are allowed to kill it.
The Islamic Understanding of Seafood according to the four schools of thought.
Turtles and Tortoises are reptiles and all reptiles are considered haram according to Hanafi, Shafi and Hanbali schools. Maliki school of thought views that all the non-poisonous/hazardous land and marine animals are Halal to consume (except for what is expressly forbidden). You can read more on Seafood Fiqh here.
According to the Hanafi School of Islamic law, seven things from a Halal and lawfully-slaughtered animal cannot be eaten. The first of these seven items has been emphatically forbidden by a decisive text of the Qur’an, hence it is unlawful (haram) to consume it; whereas consuming the other six items is considered prohibitively disliked (makruh tahrim), because there is no decisive text regarding their prohibition although their prohibitive dislike is proven through non decisive texts. (See: Bada’i al-Sana’i 5/61)
Here we consider the basic principles of permissibility and impermissibility in the Hanafi School with regards to animal consumption, as mentioned in the classical books of Hanafi jurisprudence. (Culled from: al-Fatawa al-Hindiyya, 5/289-291, Bada’i al-Sana’i, 5/35-39 and Radd al-Muhtar, 304-308)
We can also conclude that:
If a non-fish sea creature was considered as a fish by the early Arabs, then we will consider it as a fish, e.g. a Whale.
If a non-fish sea creature was unknown or never mentioned by the early Arab community then we will either use Analogy or we will use a modern biologically definition, i.e. we will say it is not a fish biologically therefore haram.
If the sea creature is a fish, regardless of size or predatory nature, it will be halal.
The following is taken from a paper presented to the AMJA Conference on The Halal and Haram in Food and Medicine (Los Angeles, California, March 2-4, 2012).
Some Muslims consider Kosher to be halal, as in, if it’s kosher then it’s halal. But we must remember that KOsher and Halal are not the same, although there may be some cross over, such as the slaughter process, likewise, there may be a cross over between halal and vegetarian. Further, you will note kosher is far more strict than halal. Muslims do not make haram what is not haram.
Most Muslims are familiar with this term and see it from a mile off on a product proclaiming haram! haram! or turn a blind eye. We may ask why gelatine is not halal. In this post, we will examine what gelatine is and whether Muslims can consume it.
Qurbani is the sacrifice of an animal during the festival Eid ul Adha. The significance of this relates to the event that took place during the time of Prophet Ibrahim Alayhissalam. This is when he in a dream was commanded to sacrifice his son for Allah. After much deliberation, he finally set out to sacrifice his beloved son. We must remember Ibrahim waited many years to finally have a son. He was 86 years old when his son was born so one can imagine the love he had for his son. And to now sacrifice him.
Some of the most important days of the year are the first 10 days of Dhul Hijjah. In Surah Al-Fajr, Allah swears by the 10 nights. Scholars are in agreement, this relates to the first ten nights of Dhul Hijjah. We often see Allah swearing by magnificent phenomenon in the Quran, this in turn gives more weight to the verses to follow. Allah is swearing by these first ten nights. These nights are not to be taken lightly.