Magnum

Magnum

Please also see the following products which are part of the Walls brand:
Swedish Glace
Ben and Jerrys
Breyers Delight
Feast
Cornetto
Calippo
Walls Soft Scoop
Mini Milk
Vienetta
Twister
Solero
Carte D’Or

Magnum

This brand has been listed as a Boycott Brand by the Witness. You can read more information here: Walls Ice Creams | Israel Boycott Guide | by The Witness

This page relates to Magnum Ice Cream, Last updated May 2024. Every effort has been made to assess each Magnum product individually. We spoke to Walls/Magnum on May 2024 to confirm whether the ice creams are halal.

Any emulsifier like E471 (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids) is derived from a plant source not from animal sources. Previously Walls had told us some products contain e471 from animal sources.

Further, Ice creams do not contain Calf Rennet, but do contain whey. Magnum cannot guarantee that there is no rennet residue in the whey. According to the Hanafis, Rennet is permissible. This is also why the products are unsuitable for vegetarians. Please read our post on Calf Rennet in Islam.

The following are halal and some are also suitable for Vegetarians:

theHalalLife.co.uk is a not for profit website. Please support us by spreading the word on theHalalLife.co.uk. We also have recipes, scholars biographies and many articles. You can share this post using the share links below.


Halal

Magnum Classic

  • Magnum Classic
  • Magnum White Ice Cream
  • Magnum Almond Ice Cream
  • Magnum Salted Caramel & Glazed Almond Ice Cream
  • Magnum Mint Ice Cream
  • Magnum Collection Pistachio Ice Cream
  • Magnum Wonder Golden Toffee
  • Magnum White Chocolate & Cookies Ice Cream

Magnum Doubles

  • Magnum Double Caramel Ice Cream
  • Magnum Double Raspberry Ice Cream
  • Magnum Double Chocolate & Caramel Ice Cream
  • Magnum Double Gold Caramel Billionaire
  • Magnum Double Sunlover Ice Cream
  • Magnum Double Starchaser Ice Cream

Magnum Minis

  • Magnum Mini Classic
  • Magnum Mini Classic, Almond & White Ice Cream
  • Magnum Mini Classic & Mint Ice Cream
  • Magnum Mini Cookie Mix
  • Magnum Mini Mix Vegan Classic/Almond
  • Magnum Mini Double Caramel Almond & Gold Caramel Billionaire
  • Magnum Mini Euphoria Pink Lemonade

Magnum Bites

  • Classic, Almond and White Choc bites

Special

  • Magnum Euphoria Pink Lemonade
  • Magnum Chill Blueberry Cookie

Magnum Vegan

  • Magnum Vegan Raspberry Swirl
  • Magnum Vegan Classic
  • Magnum Vegan Almond
  • Magnum Vegan Sea Salt Caramel Ice Cream

Magnum Tubs

  • Magnum Double Starchaser
  • Magnum Double Sunlover Tub
  • Magnum Double Gold Caramel Billionaire
  • Magnum Double Salted Caramel
  • Magnum Tub Classic Ice Cream
Vegan

Magnum Vegan

  • Magnum Vegan Sea Salt Caramel
  • Magnum Vegan Classic Almond
  • Magnum Vegan Classic
  • Magnum Double Gold Caramel Billionaire
  • Magnum Mini Double Chocolate & Double Caramel Ice Cream
  • Magnum Vegan Raspberry Swirl
  • Magnum Vegan Almond
  • Magnum Double Starchaser Tub
  • Magnum Double Sunlover Tub
  • Magnum Chill Blueberry Cookie
  • Magnum Vegan Raspberry Swirl
  • Magnum Chill Blueberry Cookie
  • Magnum Vegan Almond

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.

43 thoughts on “Magnum

  1. Hi j just called Magnum… the double raspberry are bit suitable and neither are the mint. My heart sank so didn’t ask about any others

    1. Please call Walls and verify for yourself. I called and was told that there are currently ONLY 2 magnum Ice creams that are suitable for vegetarians and also do not contain alcohol.

      1. Wa Alaykum As-salam. As far as we are aware, the information above is accurate. We are in touch with someone senior at Magnum to get clarification.

  2. The Magnum Double chocolate contains Vanilla Extract I’m wondering which kind of Vanilla extract they used the pure one which contains alcohol or just flavor?

    1. Salam, could you send us an image of the ingredients you’re seeing. The Magnum Double chocolate shouldn’t contain Vanilla Extract.

  3. Asalamu aleykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh. Are you really sure that all these products are really halal? That would be so nice but i can‘t imagine it.

  4. Are you sure about the above?
    I just spoke to magnum about the classics and they said they are neither halal nor suitable for veg.

  5. Magnum mentions they use alcohol flavourings in most of there products apart from magnum pints and magnum pistachio. The list above does not reflect this.

  6. Asalamu alaykum
    They use calf rennet but the animal has to be slaughtered the halal way therefore I think it might actually be haram.

  7. Assalamu Alaikum.
    Regarding Magnum, I did a little research myself. From my understanding the problem ingredient is “Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids” also known as E471.
    E471 can be of plant origin and of animal origin. The way to differentiate this is; if the product has “suitable for Vegetarians” on it then it is of plant origin.
    If it has NO “suitable of Vegetarians” then it is of animal origin therefore Haram.
    Magnums have no “suitable for Vegetarians” and has “Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids” in the ingredients.
    Correct me if I’m wrong; I think animal rennet and “Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids” are two different things?
    I used to eat Magnums until the gmwa foodguide said it was halal.
    Like Magnums, majority of the Walls Ice creams have the same problematic ingredient.
    It would be good to get an official clear answer on this as it’s very confusing for the public.
    Jazakallah Khair

    1. Assalaam Alaykum, We have updated our post. Please see above. Some of the confusion is due to different ingredients used for the same product around the world. As some import the international product, they may be suitable for vegetarians.

  8. Selamunaleykum. What about the alcohol in the flavors? Are you sur that the halal products have no alcohol in the flavors?

  9. Assalamu Alaikum.
    I noticed that your Cornetto and Feast pages are still saying Halal. Those contain the same fatty acid ingredient (e471) as Magnums do.
    Majority of Wall’s ice cream have the ingredient. I think it’s only 4 products that don’t.
    Please update the pages.
    Jazakallah Khair

  10. Assalamu Alaikum,

    I can see Magnum double chocolate has E471, but it is listed as halal. Could you please clarify.

    Jazakallah khair

      1. Salaam Admin, just to clarify, you’re saying…

        The products listed in the Halal section of your list are halal, despite containing E471 BECAUSE the E471 is from a halal/vegetarian source?

  11. We are currently in talks with Magnum/Walls regarding conflicting information. We will update all posts, once we have confirmation of the products.

  12. Please just put suitable for vegetarian or halal on magnum products this is crazy its so confusing about the ingrediants…..my family love magnums ice creams …

  13. If the rennet that makes whey, comes from animals that are not halal slaughtered then that rennet not halal.

    Magnums are not halal.

  14. Hi, I wanted to let you know that Magnum have written clearly on their website that their ice creams are not halal. Please review this post as you are providing false information.

  15. So why does Magnum state on there own page that there products in the U.K. are not halal?

    Very contradicting info from your page & from the official manufacturers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.