Carte D’Or

Carte D’Or

Please also see the following products which are part of the Walls brand:
Swedish Glace
Ben and Jerrys
Breyers Delight
Walls Soft Scoop
Mini Milk

This brand has been listed as a Boycott Brand by the Witness. You can read more information here: Walls Ice Creams | Israel Boycott Guide | by The Witness

We spoke to Walls/Magnum on 17th July 2020 and can confirm that the Carte D’or are primarily halal.

Any emulsifier like E471 (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids) is derived from a plant source not from animal sources. Previously Walls had told us some products contain e471 from animal sources.

Further, Ice creams do not contain Calf Rennet, but do contain whey. Magnum cannot guarantee that there is no rennet residue in the whey. According to the Hanafis, Rennet is permissible. This is also why the products are unsuitable for vegetarians. Please read our post on Calf Rennet in Islam.

Please note the Ben and Jerrys range are certified halal by HFA and are suitable for Vegetarians. Please also be aware that some of the Ice Creams contain alcohol. All of the Breyers Delight are halal.

Each product has been assessed individually. is a not for profit website. Please support us by spreading the word on We also have recipes, scholars biographies and many articles. You can share this post using the share links below.

Suitable for Vegetarians


  • Carte D’Or Lemon Meringue Pie
  • Carte D’Or Apple Tarte
  • Carte D’Or Profiterole
  • Carte D’Or Praline Treats
  • Carte D’Or Vanilla Light
  • Carte D’Or Vanilla
  • Carte D’Or Strawberry
  • Carte D’Or Caramel
  • Carte D’Or Indulgent (Dark) Chocolate
  • Carte D’Or Arabica Coffee
  • Carte D’Or Mint Chocolate
  • Carte D’Or Salted Caramel
  • Carte D’Or Romantica Caramel
  • Carte D’Or Honeycomb
  • Carte D’Or Praline
  • Carte D’Or White Chocolate
  • Carte D’Or Chocolate Brownie
  • Carte D’Or Pistachio
  • Carte D’Or Dulche de Leche (Toffee Fudge)
  • Carte D’Or Blue Candyfloss
  • Carte D’Or Café Latte (Coffee)
  • Carte D’Or Dark Chocolate
  • Carte D’Or Spagnola (Cherry)
  • Carte D’Or Honeycomb
  • Carte D’Or Banana Chocolate (Banana Split)
  • Carte D’Or Coconut


  • Carte D’Or Brownie and Vanilla Layered Dessert
  • Carte D’Or Raspberry Cheesecake Layered Dessert
  • Carte D’Or Sea Salted Caramel Layered Dessert


  • Carte D’Or Gelataria Crema di Mascarpone
  • Carte D’Or Gelateria Eton Mess
  • Carte D’Or Gelateria Triple Chocolate Parfait


  • Carte D’Or Supreme Lemon
  • Carte D’Or Supreme Chocolate Parfait
  • Carte D’Or Supreme Pavlova


  • Carte D’Or Lemon Sorbet
  • Carte D’Or Mango Sorbet
  • Carte D’Or Strawberry Sorbet
  • CarteD’Or Mandarin Sorbet


  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Vanilla
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Strawberry
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Triple Choc
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Strawberry Cheesecake
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Caramel
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Vanilla Choc Cookies
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Mint and Chocolate
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Greek Yoghurt and Honey


  • Carte D’or Artiscoop Rum & Raisin
  • Carte D’Or Supreme Tirimisu
  • Carte D’Or Les Suprêmes Tirimisu
  • Carte D’or Artiscoop Rasberry Sorbet
  • Carte D’or Artiscoop Lemon Sorbet
  • Carte D’Or Artiscoop Kids Marshmallow

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.

4 thoughts on “Carte D’Or

  1. Cart dor is definitely not halal. I called the company last week.

    In fact most Walls ice cream is not halal.

    1. Wa Alaykum As-salam. As far as we are aware, the information above is accurate. We are in touch with someone senior at Magnum to get clarification.

  2. This is maybe no longer the case. I’ve recently contacted them and they said this is the reply I’ve received:

    Answers from Walls Ambassadors
    productUsage: Weekly
    productPurchasedFrom: Retailer
    RetailerName: Morrisons

    Comment: Dear,
    Which Carte D’or ice cream products are suitable for vegetarian. This is not clearly indicated in the ingredients.
    Thank you for your help in advance
    Product Description: Carte D’Or Classic Ice Cream Dessert Strawberry 1L
    GTIN Code:
    Hi Adam

    My name is Elle and I am part of the Unilever Community.

    I’m happy to help you today to address your questions or concerns, and if I can’t, I’ll make sure you get support from our amazing consumer engagement team.

    I’m very sorry but the Carte D’Or ice cream products are not certified as suitable for either Vegetarian or Vegan diets.

    We do have products that are suitable for a vegetarian/vegan diet, including EVU Vegan Certified ‘Magnum Vegan’ and ‘Cornetto Made With Soy’ the EVU logo can be found on packs.

    For all the ice cream lovers that choose or need to follow a vegetarian diet, check out all our Wall’s products that meet your dietary needs.

    Calippo Orange and Lemon-Lime flavours are suitable-but not certified for a vegetarian or vegan diet. This is because they are being made in a factory which also makes dairy products, they carry a ‘May contain: milk’ declaration. Products such as Magnum Vegan display the European Vegetarian Union V-label.

    Walls have a very useful tool on our website where you can check the ingredients for each product. You can go to each of your favourite products and view the details.

    For more detailed information on other products, you would need to speak to the Care Line. You can call free on 0800 731 1507 – Lines are open 8am to 6pm, Monday to Friday

    I’m happy I could assist you today, please let us know if you need any further help.

    Kind regards

    1. Wa Alaykum As-salam. Your questiosn are from a vegetarian/began basis, not a halal basis. As far as we are aware, the information above (our page) is accurate. We are in touch with someone senior at Magnum to get clarification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.