Please also see the following products which are part of the Walls brand:
Swedish Glace
Ben and Jerrys
Breyers Delight
Walls Soft Scoop
Mini Milk


We spoke to Walls/Magnum on 2nd August 2019 and can confirm that none of the Magnum Classic ice cream lollies are halal. They contain mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (E471) derived from animal.

The Magnum ice cream tubs (or sometimes known as pints) are halal. The reason for this is because any emulsifiers are derived from vegetable products. Magnum are moving towards vegetarian friendly ice cream but it is a slow journey.

They have advised customers to enjoy Ben and Jerrys as all varieties are suitable for Vegetarians. Please be aware that some of the Ice Creams contain alcohol.

Further, the Ice Creams contain Calf Rennet and Vegetarians exclude Calf Rennet from their diet because rennet is extracted from the stomach of a calf or a similar animal and in order to extract the rennet, the animal will need to be slaughtered. Thus the products are rightly unsuitable for vegetarians.

However, in this instance, as it is calf rennet, they will be permissible to consume by Muslims. Please read our post on Calf Rennet in Islam.


Magnum Vegan

  • Classic
  • Almond

Magnum Tubs

  • Magnum Classic Pint
  • Magnum White Pint
  • Magnum Almond Pint
  • Magnum Praline Pint
  • Magnum Dark Raspberry Pint

Magnum Doubles

  • Double Raspberry
  • Double Chocolate

Magnum Minis

  • Mini Double Caramel

Magnum Classic

  • Classic
  • Almond
  • White
  • Praliné
  • Mint
  • Honeycomb
  • Salted Caramel
  • After Dinner
  • Honeycomb, White Choc & Almond
  • Magnum Pistachio
  • Magnum Strawberry And White

Magnum Doubles

  • Double Caramel
  • Double Coconut
  • Double Peanut Butter

Magnum Minis

  • Magnum Mini Almond
  • Magnum Mini Classic
  • Magnum Mini White
  • Magnum Mini Dark
  • Magnum Mini Intense Dark
  • Magnum Mini Mint
  • Magnum Mini Classic & Mint
  • Magnum Mini Dbl Choc & Dbl Caramel: Chocolate
  • Magnum Mini Dbl Choc & Dbl Caramel: Caramel
  • Magnum Mini Double Raspberry
  • Magnum Mini Double Peanut Butter
  • Magnum Mini Chocolate & Hazelnut Praline
  • Magnum Mini Pistachio And Hazelnut

Magnum Bites

  • Bomboniera

Magnum Chocolate Bars

  • Dark
  • Classic
  • White
  • Chocolate Almond
  • Magnum Caramel Nuts Bar

Magnum Thins

  • Classic Chocolate
  • Dark Chocolate Espresso
  • Dark Chocolate Mint


  • Chocolate Collection Box


  • White Chocolate
  • Honeycomb
  • Mint
  • Salted Caramel

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.

15 thoughts on “Magnum

  1. Hi j just called Magnum… the double raspberry are bit suitable and neither are the mint. My heart sank so didn’t ask about any others

  2. The Magnum Double chocolate contains Vanilla Extract I’m wondering which kind of Vanilla extract they used the pure one which contains alcohol or just flavor?

    1. Salam, could you send us an image of the ingredients you’re seeing. The Magnum Double chocolate shouldn’t contain Vanilla Extract.

  3. Asalamu aleykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh. Are you really sure that all these products are really halal? That would be so nice but i can‘t imagine it.

  4. Are you sure about the above?
    I just spoke to magnum about the classics and they said they are neither halal nor suitable for veg.

  5. Magnum mentions they use alcohol flavourings in most of there products apart from magnum pints and magnum pistachio. The list above does not reflect this.

  6. Asalamu alaykum
    They use calf rennet but the animal has to be slaughtered the halal way therefore I think it might actually be haram.

  7. Assalamu Alaikum.
    Regarding Magnum, I did a little research myself. From my understanding the problem ingredient is “Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids” also known as E471.
    E471 can be of plant origin and of animal origin. The way to differentiate this is; if the product has “suitable for Vegetarians” on it then it is of plant origin.
    If it has NO “suitable of Vegetarians” then it is of animal origin therefore Haram.
    Magnums have no “suitable for Vegetarians” and has “Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids” in the ingredients.
    Correct me if I’m wrong; I think animal rennet and “Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids” are two different things?
    I used to eat Magnums until the gmwa foodguide said it was halal.
    Like Magnums, majority of the Walls Ice creams have the same problematic ingredient.
    It would be good to get an official clear answer on this as it’s very confusing for the public.
    Jazakallah Khair

    1. Assalaam Alaykum, We have updated our post. Please see above. Some of the confusion is due to different ingredients used for the same product around the world. As some import the international product, they may be suitable for vegetarians.

  8. Assalamu Alaikum.
    I noticed that your Cornetto and Feast pages are still saying Halal. Those contain the same fatty acid ingredient (e471) as Magnums do.
    Majority of Wall’s ice cream have the ingredient. I think it’s only 4 products that don’t.
    Please update the pages.
    Jazakallah Khair

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.