We can also conclude that:
If a non-fish sea creature was considered as a fish by the early Arabs, then we will consider it as a fish, e.g. a Whale.
If a non-fish sea creature was unknown or never mentioned by the early Arab community then we will either use Analogy or we will use a modern biologically definition, i.e. we will say it is not a fish biologically therefore haram.
If the sea creature is a fish, regardless of size or predatory nature, it will be halal.
Octopuses are not from the fish species.
This includes Clams, Mussels, Oysters, Scallops, Octopus and Squid.
Considering Octopus is not a fish they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.
Lobster and Crab are not from the fish species from a family of large marine crustaceans. Therefore, they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.
The following is taken from a paper presented to the AMJA Conference on The Halal and Haram in Food and Medicine (Los Angeles, California, March 2-4, 2012).
Some Muslims consider Kosher to be halal, as in, if it’s kosher then it’s halal. But we must remember that KOsher and Halal are not the same, although there may be some cross over, such as the slaughter process, likewise, there may be a cross over between halal and vegetarian. Further, you will note kosher is far more strict than halal. Muslims do not make haram what is not haram.
Most Muslims are familiar with this term and see it from a mile off on a product proclaiming haram! haram! or turn a blind eye. We may ask why gelatine is not halal. In this post, we will examine what gelatine is and whether Muslims can consume it.
Qurbani is the sacrifice of an animal during the festival Eid ul Adha. The significance of this relates to the event that took place during the time of Prophet Ibrahim Alayhissalam. This is when he in a dream was commanded to sacrifice his son for Allah. After much deliberation, he finally set out to sacrifice his beloved son. We must remember Ibrahim waited many years to finally have a son. He was 86 years old when his son was born so one can imagine the love he had for his son. And to now sacrifice him.
Some of the most important days of the year are the first 10 days of Dhul Hijjah. In Surah Al-Fajr, Allah swears by the 10 nights. Scholars are in agreement, this relates to the first ten nights of Dhul Hijjah. We often see Allah swearing by magnificent phenomenon in the Quran, this in turn gives more weight to the verses to follow. Allah is swearing by these first ten nights. These nights are not to be taken lightly.
If this night is truly a blessed night then to dismiss it, is a great loss. However, if it does not hold any significance then to glorify it is an innovation and a deviation from the sunnah of the Messenger of Allāh (sall Allāhu ʿalayhi wa sallam). The Messenger of Allāh (sall Allāhu ʿalayhi wa sallam) said: “Anyone who introduces something into this matter of ours, which is not from it, will have it rejected.” (Bukhārī and Muslim)
Rennet is an enzyme used in the food industry for the preparation of cheese by curdling milk. Rennet is extracted from the stomach of a calf or animal.
“Whoever kills a sparrow or anything bigger than that without a just cause, Allah will hold him accountable on the Day of Judgment,” the Prophet reportedly said.
The Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) have responded after three leading Muslim scholars announced Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) is halal and can be consumed by Muslims.
We have some new information regarding the stance on outlets like KFC, Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin along with other scholars investigated the suppliers of such outlets and the practices of HFA. The Shaykh States:
Some time ago, there were rumours talking about how E-numbers indicate that a product contains traces of pork. So, whenever a product has an E-number on it, it will instantly be flagged as Non-halal for Muslims!
Generally all foods are halal except the following:
Carminic Acid, also known as Carmine and Cohineal or by its E number E120, is a food colouring derived from insects, commonly beetles.
In some cases Bacon flavour is artificial i.e. no use of pork at all. The scholars say, although the product will be halal, it is disliked as it resembles something clear cut haram.