Brief Halal Food Guidelines

Brief Halal Food Guidelines

Generally all foods are halal except the following:

  • Swine/Pork and its by-products (like gelatine etc)
  • Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
  • Reptiles and insects
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals.
  • Food containing ingredients such as gelatine, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavours are questionable (mashbooh), because of the origin of these ingredients is not known
  • The preparation, processing and manufacturing equipment must be free from all of the above.
  • The above rules also apply to all raw materials which are used in the manufacture of your product.

Food products must be free from the following

  • Pig or Dog blood
  • Blood
  • Part or by-product of human body e.g. human hair in L-Cysteine
  • Carnivorous animals (except fish)
  • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
  • Reptiles and insects
  • Any marine animals except fish
  • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
  • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
  • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
  • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.) which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law. (Note: Most animals in the U.K. are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law).
  • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
  • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
  • Any product or by-product (including any product used temporarily as a substitute or for trial) which contains or is derived from any one or more of the above products (as defined in sections 1. to 13.) in however minute quantity, whether as an ingredient or sub ingredient or as a processing aid or as a releasing agent or as a glazing agent or as an additive or as a colour or in any other form, is Haraam (unlawful) for Muslims
  • The preparation, processing and the manufacturing equipment must be free from all of the above as defined in sections 1. to 14.
    The packaging material, which comes in contact with the food product must be free from all of the above as defined in sections 1. to 14.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.