Is Squid halal?

Is Squid halal?

Fried Calamari Recipe - Dinner at the Zoo

The answer to this is based on whether Squid are considered Fish or not. You can read more on Seafood Fiqh here.

Squid are not from the fish species. According to, “Mollusks are soft-bodied invertebrates of the phylum Mollusca, usually wholly or partly enclosed in a calcium carbonate shell secreted by a soft mantle covering the body.”

This includes Clams, Mussels, Oysters, Scallops, Octopus and Squid.

Considering Squid is not a fish they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.

The other three schools consider Squid to be halal.

Squid is also known as calamari.

You may also be interested in:

You can read more on halal:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.