Many of us have come across ethanol or ethyl-alcohol, or just alcohol in products. In this post, we will consider the Islamic Stance of these substances. We must first remind you that Alcohol is a very complex topic and still debated by scholars. We will present a number of views, however, our overarching view is the Hanafi position. If you want to skip the evidence and just want an answer, click here.
Bacon is not allowed for Muslims to eat in any form. This also includes wearing materials made from pig leather or eating bread which contains pig hair.
Squid are not from the fish species. According to Britannica.com, “Mollusks are soft-bodied invertebrates of the phylum Mollusca, usually wholly or partly enclosed in a calcium carbonate shell secreted by a soft mantle covering the body.”
There are a multitude of opinions in the Hanafi School, these vary based on whether prawns and shrimp are considered fish or not, biologically and/or colloquially. You can read more on Seafood Fiqh here first.
Here we consider the basic principles of permissibility and impermissibility in the Hanafi School with regards to animal consumption, as mentioned in the classical books of Hanafi jurisprudence. (Culled from: al-Fatawa al-Hindiyya, 5/289-291, Bada’i al-Sana’i, 5/35-39 and Radd al-Muhtar, 304-308)
Lobster and Crab are not from the fish species from a family of large marine crustaceans. Therefore, they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.
Octopuses are not from the fish species.
This includes Clams, Mussels, Oysters, Scallops, Octopus and Squid.
Considering Octopus is not a fish they will be considered haram under the Hanafi School.
The Islamic Understanding of Seafood according to the four schools of thought.
Turtles and Tortoises are reptiles and all reptiles are considered haram according to Hanafi, Shafi and Hanbali schools. Maliki school of thought views that all the non-poisonous/hazardous land and marine animals are Halal to consume (except for what is expressly forbidden). You can read more on Seafood Fiqh here.
Sushi is often said to be raw fish, but it is in fact a way to prepare rice with fish as an accompaniment. You can see from the picture below there are various type, each with different names. Shashimi is the only one without rice, it is small thin slices of fish.
Taste, texture, freshness and appearance are a few of the major contributions food ingredients and food additives make toward the enjoyment of food. By aiding in the processing and preparation of foods, ingredients also help to maintain certain desirable qualities that are associated with various foods.
Some Muslims consider Kosher to be halal, as in, if it’s kosher then it’s halal. But we must remember that KOsher and Halal are not the same, although there may be some cross over, such as the slaughter process, likewise, there may be a cross over between halal and vegetarian. Further, you will note kosher is far more strict than halal. Muslims do not make haram what is not haram.
Gelatin is used in chewy and fluffy sweets and desserts, but finding halal gelatin is not easy for Muslims around the globe. Halal gelatin is getting more attention these days since it makes sweets and desserts finer and fluffier. How can we tell the difference between what’s halal gelatin and what’s not?
The Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) have responded after three leading Muslim scholars announced Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) is halal and can be consumed by Muslims.
We have some new information regarding the stance on outlets like KFC, Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin along with other scholars investigated the suppliers of such outlets and the practices of HFA. The Shaykh States:
Carminic Acid, also known as Carmine and Cohineal or by its E number E120, is a food colouring derived from insects, commonly beetles.