Is Shushi Halal?

Is Shushi Halal?

Sushi is often said to be raw fish, but it is, in fact, a way to prepare rice with fish as an accompaniment. You can see from the picture below there are various type, each with different names. Sashimi is the only one without rice, it is small thin slices of fish.

So Sushi is more of a name for a type of Japanese food. And it doesn’t need to contain fish, they can have shrimp, lobster, squid. The rice + extra toppings is then wrapped in seaweed.

Seaweed is Halal to consume.

So the advice is to consider all the ingredients.

You should also consider any cross contamination when ordering from a street food vendor or restaurant.

See our post on Seafood Fiqh and also consider the following posts:

You may also be interested in:

You can read more on halal:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.