Walkers

Walkers

for illustration purposes only

This page relates to Walkers, a Walkers brand.

Please see below for a list of products suitable for Vegetarians and another list for Vegetarians with no Ethanol. The scholars regard Ethanol as permissible to consume, therefore it is halal to consume the products in the first list. However, we have also presented the list of products that contain ethanol for those who reserve the opinion is it haram (minority). Please see the post is Ethanol halal?

Suitable for Vegetarians

No animal or animal derivatives have intentionally been used as ingredients in the products listed below:

Walkers Crisps Range

  • Walkers Crisps Beef & Onion Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Marmite Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Worcester Sauce Flavour

Walkers Max Range

  • Walkers MAX Paprika Flavour

Walkers MixUps Range

  • Walkers MixUps Snacks Mix Spicy Flavour
Suitable for Vegetarians with no Ethanol used in production

No animal or animal derivatives or ethanol has intentionally been used as ingredients in the products listed below:

Walkers Bugles Range

  • Walkers Bugles Cheese Flavour
  • Walkers Bugles Sour Cream and Black Pepper Flavour
  • Walkers Bugles Southern Style BBQ Flavour

Walkers Crisps Range

  • Walkers Crisps Cheese & Onion Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Pickled Onion Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Prawn Cocktail Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Ready Salted
  • Walkers Crisps Roast Chicken Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Salt ‘n’ Shake
  • Walkers Crisps Smoky Bacon Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Sriracha Flavour
  • Walkers Crisps Tomato Ketchup Flavour
  • Walkers Lights Simply Salted

Walkers Max Range

  • Walkers MAX Cheese & Onion Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Flame Grilled Steak Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Flamin Hot Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Salt and Vinegar Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Strong Chilli & Lime Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Strong Hot Chicken Wings Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Strong Spicy curry Flavour
  • Walkers MAX Strong Wasabi Flavour

Walkers MixUps range

  • Walkers MixUps Snacks Mix Cheese Flavour

Walkers Tear and Share Range

  • Walkers Tear and Share Cheese and Onion Flavour
  • Walkers Tear and Share Salt and Vinegar Flavour
  • Walkers Tear and Share Salted

However, it is disliked to eat Artificial flavoured Bacon, thus the Crispy Bacon flavour should be avoided. Seethe post Stance on Artificial Bacon Flavour.

Please regard any crisps not mentioned in the above list as Not suitable for Muslim consumption. Otherwise continue to monitor the back of the pack for any changes.

“This list is published using the best possible Information that is available at the time of compilation. Whilst we take every care we cannot accept liability for any errors that may inadvertently occur.”

Walkers

Therefore we will email Walkers in 6 months for an update.

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.

15 thoughts on “Walkers

  1. If someone presented a mix bowl of crisps.. and say you ate them and later found out some of them were pork. Is it haram?

    1. Salam Brother

      If the crisps contained pork, then they are unequivocally haram, however if it was flavouring (not derived from pigs) then it won’t be considered haram, but still disliked.
      As one was not aware, no sin is upon them, however it gives thought to ensuring what we eat is halal beforehand.

  2. Asalam walaikum thank you for doing a great job and informing the Muslim jummah but I have come across the walkers max strong range can you clarify if they are halal or not they have animal Renner in the jalapeno and cheese one and there is also hot chicken wings anf chilli and lime flavour

    1. Salam,

      We can confirm the following are halal:

      Walkers MAX Strong Chilli & Lime Flavour
      Walkers MAX Strong Wasabi Flavour

        1. Salam, the mentioned crisps are haram. Do you think people will benefit from a haram tab?

          We did not want to declare products as haram, as there is sometimes a difference of opinion, either in ingredients or school of thought.

  3. Assalamu alaykum

    I’ve stumbled across your site whilst researching the use of ethanol in food products (specifically Walkers crisps), and hope you can help…

    Are crisps (or other food products) that contain ethanol, permissible to eat for Muslims? I have recently discovered that Walkers Sensations contain ethanol, and possibly Walkers Max Paprika too.

    What’s the Hanafi fiqh regarding this please?

    Jazak’Allah khayr

    1. Salam, because the amount of the synthetic alcohol is minute and also is not derived from dates or grapes, they will be permissible to consume.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.