This page relates to M & M’s, a Mars brand. Last updated March 2022.

The classic M and M’s are not halal nor are they suitable for vegetarians. Some products are haram because they contain E120 Cochineal. You can read more on Cochineal here.

We spoke to M and M who failed to clarify and confirm if whether some products (those with know red colouring) are halal. Therefore, we suggest avoid all products just in case there is animal product other than cochineal.

Some products contains vanilla extract, however Mars confirm the Vanilla does not contain any alcohol.

Hi, M&M’s in the UK aren’t suitable for halal or vegetarian diets. We use additives that come from animal products when we’re making M&M’s and traces of these can be found in the sweets. They aren’t listed in the ingredients because they’re only present in such small amounts.


Every effort has been made to assess each M&M’s product.

  • M&M’s Peanut
  • M&M’s Milk Chocolate
  • M&M’s Crispy
  • M&M’s Crispy Chocolate Bar
  • M&M’s Peanut Chocolate Bar
  • M&M’s Hazelnut Chocolate Bar
  • M&M’s Chocolate Bar
  • M&M’s Brownie Flavour

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.

38 thoughts on “M&M’s

  1. Would the ingredients sections mention that it has E120? I’m reading the back of an m&m’s crispy now and E120 is not mentioned. However, E100, E133, E160a, E160e and E171 are mentioned.

    1. Salam,

      The mentioned ingredients are all halal. Can you double check there’s no carmine? If so the product should be halal.

      The e numbers you mentioned are all colours.

    1. Carmine is another word for E120
      There’s different names for E120, Carmine . Google will mention them all , please double check before buying any products

      1. There are M&M mix together. Where you can purchase them separately from different colours. I heard only red one is not halal. M&M MIX TOGETHER can bought from some asda stores and inside some vue cinema stores.
        What do you say, are they halal or not?

    1. Salaam are you based in the UK? Can you send an image of the wrapper to our WhatsApp Business number 07874 846492

  2. Looks like the new M&M’s Peanut Milk Chocolate Block 165G might be halal?

    Can you confirm please?

    Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Skimmed Milk Powder, Cocoa Mass, Peanuts, Milk Fat, Lactose, Whey Powder (from Milk), Full Cream Milk Powder, Emulsifier (Soya Lecithin), Palm Fat, Starch, Glucose Syrup, Shea Fat, Stabiliser (Gum Arabic), Colours (E100, E133, E160a, E162, E170, E172), Dextrin, Glazing Agent (Carnauba Wax), Natural Vanilla Extract, Palm Kernel Oil, Salt, Flavouring, Milk chocolate contains Milk Solids 14% minimum and Cocoa Solids 25% minimum

    1. Salam. Yes it would appear so, we will try to get confirmation from M and M’s.

      1. I emailed mars UK earlier this year and they responded with the following:
        Thanks for getting in touch about our M&M’S product.

        I’m afraid M&M’s sold in the UK aren’t suitable for vegetarians. M&M’s sold in the UK contain an additive that is derived from animal products. Our current manufacturing capability and capacity means that we can’t offer M&M’s suitable for a vegetarian diet in the UK.

        Among our brands, we have a large range of products that are suitable for vegetarians in the UK and they are labelled with the words ‘Suitable for Vegetarians’ on the pack.

  3. Salam alikoum
    First I want to say I am very grateful for the effort you’re making to ease it for us. My question is what if we select them by colours , which means we don’t it the red and orange ones only

    1. Wa Salam, one issue we have here is the cross contamination. Ive heard scholars say it is fine, but we will try to confirm the manufacturing process with m n ms

      1. Salam hope everyone is well
        can someone please give a list of what is halal please

        There is ice cream the M&m ones are they halal as it said suitable for vegetarians

        Can someone please confirm inshallah thank you

  4. Asalaam alakum wa-rahmatullahi wabrakatu I think it would be beneficial if we can find a supplier of 1kg m&m’s peanut version which can be imported to uk or any other country & to spread the word to only buy from these sources so muslim brothers & sisters can enjoy life just like every other consumer & in a hallal way. I seen sellers, selling m&m’s, on ebay but 99% don’t know or care about checking that what they are selling is hallal. Please anyone reading this knows of a genuine importer or seller of hallal m&m’s post the information including verification that it is hallal for the benefit of the ummah.

  5. Salam, its says suitable for vegetarians on the back of an m&m ice cream tub. So does this mean it is permissible to eat?

    (btw I am in England)

      1. Salam

        On the back of my packet there is: dextrin, colours,E100, E133, E160a, E170), glazing agent (carnauba wax). There is also carmine.

        Please confirm if they are halal.

  6. But- but I eat milk chocolate M&M’s tho…………………

    Whatever It has to much fat to it to but I checked the ingredients it doesn’t say gelatin big or enzymes tho

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.