This brand has been listed as a Boycott Brand by the Witness. You can read more information here: McDonalds | Israel Boycott Guide | by The Witness

Is McDonald’s Halal?

The question we all ask is whether McDonald’s is halal. is a not for profit website. Please support us by spreading the word on We also have recipes, scholars biographies and many articles. You can share this post using the share links below.

McDonald’s is the largest fast food franchise in the world with 68 million customers entering its doors every day, including Muslims. This post will shed some light on the products sold by McDonald’s. We are working on another post in relation to McDonald’s and Israeli ties.

McDonalds’ unequivocally state their restaurants are not certified halal, they make it clear for customers not to expect anything to be halal.

This alone should raise a red flag.

Whatever you’ve heard about McDonald’s being halal, do not take this on.

Although McDonald’s know Muslims can eat ‘suitable for vegetarian’ products, they still do not associate Islam to the brand nor want to fall short of meeting Halal guidelines. It would be difficult to meet this standard in every restaurant.

This being said, McDonald’s verify certain products are suitable for vegetarians, which as Muslims, we know we can consume, but only after, it is clear, no other haram substances or cross contamination takes place. To date here is the McDonald’s Approved Suitable for Vegetarian list:

Suitable for Vegetarian list
  • Pancakes & Syrup
  • Quaker Oat So Simple®
  • IRN-BRU®
  • Quaker Oat So Simple® Apple & Cherry Porridge
  • Toasted Bagel
  • Hash Brown
  • Vegetable Deluxe
  • Spicy Vegetable Deluxe
  • McDonald’s Fries
  • Shaker Side Salad
  • Carrot Bag
  • Apple & Grape Fruit Bag
  • Smarties® McFlurry®
  • Oreo® McFlurry®
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk® McFlurry®
  • Cadbury Crunchie® McFlurry®
  • Ice Cream Cone
  • Ice Cream Cone with Flake
  • Chocolatey Donut
  • Blueberry Muffin
  • Chocolate Muffin
  • Triple Chocolate Cookie
  • Sugar Donut
  • Flat White
  • Toffee Latte
  • Latte
  • Cappuccino
  • Black Coffee
  • White Coffee
  • Double Espresso
  • Hot Chocolate
  • Tea
  • Mango and Pineapple Iced Fruit Smoothie
  • Berry Burst Fruit Smoothie
  • Caramel Iced Frappé
  • Mocha Iced Frappé
  • Chocolate Milkshake
  • Strawberry Milkshake
  • Banana Milkshake
  • Vanilla Milkshake
  • Buxton® Mineral Water (Still)
  • Organic Milk
  • Tropicana® Orange Juice
  • Robinsons® Fruit Shoot
  • Coca-Cola® Zero Sugar
  • Diet Coke®
  • Sprite® Zero
  • Coca-Cola® Classic
  • Fanta® Orange
  • Oasis®

Nutritional Calculator

Check our this nutritional calculator by Mcdonald’s. you can find a list of ingredients for every product.

Cross Contamination

McDonald’s cannot guarantee that in all 36000+ restaurants there is no cross contamination between products. However there are some local branches/franchises that do ensure there is no cross contamination. The following provide such assurity. If you’d like us to find out about your local branch, leave a comment below.

  • Bradford – Ingleby Rd, BD9
  • This list will continue to be updated ,after we have spoken to McDonald’s managers across the country.

Some finally answered questions by McDonald’s

Are McDonald’s buns suitable for a halal diet?

Although our standard buns, the one’s used on Hamburgers, Big Mac® and Quarter Pounder™s for example, are all suitable for vegetarians, there are currently no ingredients certified as Halal on our U.K. menu.

Is the sauce used in the Filet-o-Fish® vegetarian and/or halal?

Although the Tartare Sauce used in our Filet-o-Fish® is suitable for vegetarians, it is not Halal. (We do not currently serve any halal certified menu items in the U.K.)

Are there plans for a halal menu in areas of the U.K. where the Muslim population is high?

Unfortunately, we’re not in a position to roll out Halal food in the U.K. at this time.

There are, however, several items on the breakfast menu that might be suitable depending on your dietary requirements. These include plain Oatso Simple Porridge, Hash Browns or a plain, toasted Bagel.

Are your veggie burgers genuinely suitable for vegetarians?

The Spicy Vegetable Deluxe and Vegetable Deluxe are both suitable for vegetarians and have been approved by the Vegetarian Society.

Is emulsifier 471 that you use in some of your products suitable for vegetarians?

Yes, it is. The emulsifier E471 used in some of our food including ice cream and burger buns is from a vegetable source and is suitable for vegetarians. It has been independently checked by the Vegetarian Society.

What are your vegetarian breakfast options?

There are quite a few! The Bagel served with Flora, Philadelphia Light, Butter or Jam, Blueberry Muffin, Chocolate Muffin, Hash Browns, Oatso Simple Porridge (Plain and Apple & Cherry), Pancakes & Syrup, Chocolatey Donut, Sugar Donut, and the Triple Chocolate Cookie have all been approved by the Vegetarian Society.

Though some of our other products, the McMuffin® with Egg for example, do not contain meat or meat products, we are unable to guarantee that they are suitable for vegetarian…

Does the strawberry milkshake contain cochineal?

No. The strawberry milkshake served in our U.K. restaurants contains the natural colour Beetroot Juice Concentrate. In fact, our strawberry milkshakes have been approved as suitable for vegetarians by the Vegetarian Society.

What emulsifiers of Mono and Diglycerides do you use in your ice-cream products, including the McFlurry®?

The emulsifiers used in the ice cream for our McFlurry® desserts are of plant origin. Our ice cream has been checked by the Vegetarian Society and is suitable for vegetarians. You can find a full ingredient declaration for all food (including our burgers) served in the U.K. by visiting our online nutritional calculator tool here or downloading our Allergen Booklet

You can check out our posts on Subway, Nandos, Frankies and Bennies and Five Guys.

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.