Extra Gum

Extra Gum

for illustration purposes only

This page relates to Extra Gum, a Wrigley’s and Mars brand. Last updated Mar 2024. Every effort has been made to assess every Extra Gum product individually.

The following are halal and also suitable for Vegetarians:

Halal
  • Spearmint
  • Peppermint
  • Polar Ice
  • Winter Fresh
  • Cool Breeze
  • Classic Bubble
  • Smooth Mint
  • Strawberry
  • Sweet Watermelon
  • Tropical/Mango
  • Berry Burst
  • White
  • Cinnamon
  • Chewy Mints
  • Pink Lemonade

Chewy Mints

  • Peppermint
  • Cool Breeze

Refreshers

  • Berry Mix
  • Mint Mix
  • Polar Ice
  • Spearmint
  • Fruit Mix

Recipes may change so always check the ingredients on the pack.

31 thoughts on “Extra Gum

      1. I have called them on different occasions and have been told by their agents not to buy this particular flavor because it has animal derivative in it.

  1. Are you sure about the Extra Watermelon Gum Cuz @Sara says that there is alcohol which contains ethanol. Is it Halal or Not. Also I heard that the whole wriggleys company is Halal… Is that true

    1. Sugar alcohols are halal because they are neither sugar nor alcohol. They are molecularly similar to ethanol and to sucrose (table sugar) thus why they call them sugar alcohols. These are a form of artificial sweetener. But since they are only similar in structure to ethanol and other alcohols but not exact matches or enantiomers they do not metabolize anything like alcohol in the body and do not cause intoxication in any amount, because again it is not really “alcohol”

  2. Chewing gums in non-Islamic countries not Halal, clearly understandable because of the key ingredient used as gelatin, only terms are used differently.

  3. Guys be careful before trusting this website for halal products. It claims that products that contain negligible amount of ethanol are halal which is against many school of thoughts. Couple of Muslim scholars have ruled even a super small amount of ethanol HARAM.

    May Allah protect us from Haram products.

  4. Hi i just wanted to notify the Classic Bubble and Watermelon flavor are not halal because they have Red 40 in them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.