Holidays of Islam

Holidays of Islam

QuickFire Segments
Answer to your most common queries

What are the Holidays in Islam

There are two primary holidays in Islam, and both are festivals. Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul Adha.

Eid ul Fitr is the festival Muslims celebrate after fasting for 30 days in the month of Ramadhan. The festival takes place on the 1st of Shawwal. The months in Islam are based on a lunar calendar so subject to sighting the new crescent moon. After 30 days of fasting, Muslims celebrate with the community on the dedication and prayers undertaken.

Eid ul Adha is the Festival of Sacrifice, this takes place on the 10th Dhul Hijjah. It is a time where cattle are sacrificed and the meat is distributed to the poor, neighbours and one’s family. Muslims also reflect on servitude to Allah.

Some other periods of celebration and remembrance include:

• the 10th of Muharram, or the Ashura, where Muslims fast for 2 days

• the 15th Sha’baan, where Muslims gather to make special prayers

• the 27th Rajab, which is the date believed where the Prophet Muhammad ascended to meet Allah

• the 12th Rabbi ul Awwal, the birthday of the Prophet Muhammad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.